Fierce DWI Defense Attorney in Houston, Texas
If you’re facing a DWI charge in or near Houston, Texas, you’ve come to the right place for help. My name is Drew Prisner, and I’m a criminal defense attorney who has been defending DWI clients for more than 13 years. If you’re looking for clear answers, honest counsel, and a strong defense, I encourage you to reach out and set up a consultation with me today.
Tell me about your case
Using Forensic Science & Law to Defend Your Case
“Forensic Lawyer Scientist” is a title recognized by the American Chemical Society. Attorneys with this title have unique insight into DWI and related cases.
As a seasoned criminal defense attorney and Forensic Lawyer Scientist, I am intimately familiar with both the legal and scientific methods the prosecution will use when preparing their case. Even better, I have extensive experience using that insight to defend clients accused of DWI.
What can I do for you?
Explain your rights & options
Whether or not this is your first time being accused of a crime, it’s important that you understand your rights and options so you can make smart legal decisions moving forward. As your attorney, I will take the time to clearly explain everything and tell you the full truth — not just what you want to hear.
Fight to reduce criminal penalties
The criminal penalties for a DWI conviction can range anywhere from a moderate fine to 10 years in prison (you’ll find more details about DWI penalties further down on this page). However, a skilled defense attorney can often fight to get such penalties reduced, dismissed, or replaced with probation.
Represent you in civil court
Most people don’t realize that Texas DWI charges result in both criminal and civil penalties. Even fewer people realize they may be able to avoid license suspension (a civil penalty) if they request an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) hearing within 15 days of their arrest. The sooner you contact me for help, the sooner I can guide you through the ALR process and fight to help you avoid other civil penalties.
Criminal & Civil Penalties for DWI in Texas
First DWI Offense: Class B Misdemeanor
If a driver’s blood or breath test results come back at .14 or lower, they will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor. In Texas, the corresponding penalty is up to 6 months in county jail and/or a fine of $2,000 or less.
First DWI Offense: Class A Misdemeanor
When blood or breath tests come back at .15 or higher, the accused is looking at a Class A misdemeanor. Texas Class A misdemeanors are punished by up to 1 year in county jail and/or a $4,000 maximum fine.
Second DWI Offense
Second DWI offenses in Texas are automatically charged at the Class A misdemeanor level. In other words, second offenses can be punished by a fine of up to $4,000 and/or a maximum of 1 year in county jail.
Third DWI Offense
Because they’re charged at the felony level, third DWI offenses are met with some serious penalties. If charged with a third DWI, you could be facing 2 to 10 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
DWI with a Child Passenger
The Texas justice system takes DWI cases involving child passengers very seriously. That’s why they’re charged as State Jail Felonies and punished by 180 days to 2 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $10,000.
While the criminal penalties for DWI can include jail time and hefty fines, the civil penalties may include loss of driving privileges, driver’s license suspension, and/or DPS surcharges (civil fines).
Don’t throw in the towel on your DWI case. Schedule a consultation so we can discuss your options.
Right now, it may feel like you’re stuck in a bad situation, but you have more options than you realize. You have the right to an attorney and the choice to work with one who knows Texas DWI law inside and out. Before you do anything else, reach out to my law firm to schedule a consultation. Together, we’ll review your best options and come up with a game plan to defend your case.